November 15, 2018 | Lee Cannon

North Carolina Space Grant is pleased to name the winners of the 2018-19 Community College STEM Scholarships.

The Community College STEM Student Scholarship is a competitive scholarship opportunity for community college students majoring in STEM disciplines at any campus in the NC Community College System, with plans to continue their education through graduation or transfer to a four-year institution. The goals of the scholarship program are to foster community college retention in STEM academic tracks; to promote STEM career awareness and workplace skills; to recognize high academic achievement and promise; and to increase participation of all students, including underrepresented minorities, woman and students with disabilities, in STEM-related careers.

For 2017-18, NC Space Grant awarded 16 students a year-long Community College STEM Scholarship. Of those, nine students have already matriculated to four-year colleges and universities. Previous scholars have established a track record of success over the years, eventually landing positions in multiple STEM fields and at aerospace companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and NAVAIR, among others. One 2014-15 scholar recently accepted a rocket science position at United Launch Alliance as a decontamination specialist. Read more about her journey from Sandhills Community College to a rocket science career in our Where Are They Now? blog post.

We are excited to welcome these new students to the NC Space Grant Community College STEM Scholars family and look forward to following their progress through their education and future career paths.

Adam Burkins – Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College

Joseph Chavis – Robeson Community College

Torin Cuany – Wake Technical Community College

Christian Donaldson – Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College

Eskridge Hallman – Isothermal Community College

Mary Moore – Wake Technical Community College

William Smith – Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College

Morgan Solomon – Cape Fear Community College

Christopher Wagner – Wake Technical Community College

Mikayla Wright – Forsyth Technical Community College

Annie Zheng – Wake Technical Community College

Share this story!

Comments are closed.