Skip to main content

2022-2023 Pre-Service Teachers Education Scholars Announced

NC Space Grant is pleased to announce the recipients of the STEM Pre-Service Teacher Education Scholarships for the 2022-23 academic year. These teachers-in-training will experience unique access to NASA education specialists and materials, to prepare them to bring NASA knowledge and resources into their classrooms in the future. 

The STEM Pre-Service Teacher Education Scholarship program is designed for students enrolled in STEM-related teacher education degree programs at the undergraduate level — known as pre-service teachers. The program is designed to meet multiple objectives. First, these scholarships promote science education in the K-12 classroom, focusing on improving pre-­college perceptions and interests in science, science education and science careers. Second, they assist in teachers’ preparation for entering K-12 science classrooms. Lastly, the program equips future teachers with NASA content and tools to use in the classroom.

Scholarship recipients have the opportunity to complete a series of NASA STEM Digital Badges, participate in two webinars and attend at least one Educator Professional Development Webinar offered by NASA Educator Professional Development Collaborative (EPDC). Each badge challenges educators to complete a classroom teaching component to demonstrate their mastery of the content and to adapt it into engaging classroom activities. 

Students will participate in a field trip to NASA Langley Research Center in Virginia in Spring 2023, where they will present a poster of completed activities at the NASA Langley Office of Education.  

The NC Space Grant team is pleased to award STEM Pre-Service Teacher Education Scholarships to the following students, and looks forward to the impacts that the knowledge, experience and inspiration they take to their future classrooms will have on the next generation. 

2022-23 STEM Pre-Service Teacher Education Scholars

Not pictured: Lara Wright — NC State University

Gabriela Schiappacasse-Mathy — UNC-Charlotte
Jayla Gore — Lenoir Rhyne University
Faelynn Williams — UNC-Charlotte
Grace Vercauteren — Western Carolina University
Carly Cook — Western Carolina University
Rogelio Lopez — East Carolina University
Kenae Turner — Elizabeth City State University
Marisa Rotolo — UNC-Chapel Hill
Ann Lovelace — UNC-Charlotte
Anna Alayo-Matos — Belmont Abbey College

Share this story!